War and Sexual Identity: Ilvy Njiokiktjien’s Report on the LGBTQI Community in Lviv, Ukraine

Virtual event

Date

March 29, 2022
12:00–13:15PM EDT

Join VII Insider
Maksym Pustovoit (41, l) and his boyfriend Timyr Tolchin (31, r) are both from Kyiv. They closed the door to their apartment on February 26, 2022. Timyr: 'I don't want to live here if Russia would win, but they won't. There would be no life for us if they would.' Photo by Ilvy Njiokiktjien / VII.

Ten million Ukrainians have been displaced by the Russian invasion – 6.5 million people are internally displaced, and 3.5 million have fled the country becoming refugees in the process. Amongst those displaced are members of Ukraine’s LGBTQI community, who are thought to be among the designated targets of a Russian campaign to oppress sectors of the community, and names of LGBTQI activists have apparently appeared on Russian kill lists. 

Ilvy Njiokiktjien went to Lviv on 11 March to cover everyday life in the city (listen to her audio dispatch from Lviv for more details) and while there she started work on a personal project to document the LGBTQI community in Lviv as they cope with the consequences of the Russian invasion. 

In this event, Ilvy will present the first images from her project and what she hopes to achieve with the story – one that documents both the love stories and the atrocities, as well as the community’s dreams for the future, and what that future might be if Russia succeeds in its brutal campaign.

Event time: 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST / 19:00 EEST 

 

Ilvy Njiokiktjien

Netherlands
, Utrecht
Ilvy Njiokiktjien is an independent photographer and multimedia journalist based in the Netherlands. She has worked in many parts of the world, with a focus on Africa. As a news and documentary photographer, she covers current affairs and contemporary social issues. She was born in the Netherlands, and, after leaving school, she studied for a year in South Dakota (USA) before returning home to study journalism and photography.
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn